Where?

I was born and raised in a decent sized town.  It had most of what I wanted…discount stores, fast food, plenty of pizza places, a small shopping mall.  In school I always thought I’d never live there when I grew up and was on my own.  I was going to go somewhere more exciting.  Don’t we all have dreams of bigger and better places when we’re teenagers? Other than my college years I continued to live there.  Married my high school sweetheart there and started a family.

So how did I end up in a small town over 200 miles away from all family and friends?

While I am a caretaker by nature, I have a bit of an adventurous side too.  I urged my husband to look around at other job opportunities in his field.  Be careful what you ask for…

Before long we were packing up and moving out.  We arrived in this small town with a pile of debt, two houses, two children, two pets, a semi full of stuff and high hopes.  And love.  While the road has been rocky at times, we are finally feeling settled three years later.  We have learned so much, and are better for it.

Life is simpler now.  And I am frugal now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

