Get Busy or Slow Down?

As the new year approaches, I find myself examining where I am and where I hope to be this time next year.  I know I’m not alone.  Forming resolutions and new goals is the thing to do this time of year.  I am no exception…I have a list as long as my arm of the things I’d like to do. And that’s just January.  Eek!  Why do I push myself like this?  Why rush?  Maybe a more simple approach is out there.  Maybe I just have to look.

Of course, my list includes the typical New Year’s things.  Lose weight.  Declutter and organize.  Make time for myself.  Read.  Spend more quality time with my kids.  Start a date night with my husband.  Eliminate debt.  Save money.  Basically be Wonder Woman…invisible jet and golden lasso included.  Maybe not so realistic.  So if my goal is to live simply, how should I go about this?

Is the rush we’re all in to make changes and start fresh just as much about the multitude of events we’ve just put behind us, as it is about the New Year officially beginning?  For weeks we’ve all been busy shopping and baking, entertaining and being entertained.  Trips to the mall and church, pageants, programs and the homes of relatives and friends.  It has been so busy.  Now that all of that is over are we more apt to feel a need to fill it with something.  Like maybe more work.  If we could be so productive and get all that done in December, then shouldn’t we be able to do just as much in January.  Just think of all we could accomplish if we kept up December’s frenzied pace.  That is where I usually get stuck.

Now this year I hope to make a more conscious effort to remember that it is ok to slow down.  Plug away at things a little everyday and still get to bed on time.  Does it all have to quickly become perfect?

My first small step is to leave up my Christmas decorations until Saturday.  Usually I take everything down quickly after Christmas…definitely by January 2.  Not this year.  I don’t want to race through New Year’s Day and show up to work Friday morning feeling frazzled.  So, Saturday I will work at it while keeping in mind that Sunday will be more restful.

Maybe this year I’ll figure out how to get busy while slowing down. Wouldn’t that be something!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

