2009

Here we are in a new year.  I had a wonderful New Year’s Day.  It was a slower pace where  I accomplished some things and left others undone.

I have been putting a lot of thought into what I want focus on in the new year.  As silly as it sounds I couldn’t really hit on anything that felt like the thing I should focus on.  Lately I have been drawn to the idea of entertaining more.  I feel like learning something new.  I don’t know what.  I have been reading many other blogs and their hints and tips for making resolutions and goals for the new year.  I read several sets of questions we are to contemplate when formulating the next set of goals we lay out.  In doing all this I am slowly coming to a realization.  Sadly, I am racing through my days trying to do it all as best I can or fill my time with meaningless nothing to procrastinate doing something else, and I’m not really paying attention to all that is around me.  I’ve become detached.  I’m involved in my kids’ lives.  Dan and I have strengthened our relationship quite a bit over the last many months.  Those relationships are not what I am talking about.  It is the other stuff.  So, in light of this disconnected feeling, I am getting involved.  I signed up for a couple of fitness classes at the local community center,  joined a book club and am registered for an online course for my daycare continuing ed training.  All of these things are a little outside my regular comfort level.  I hope to find out just who I am again.  Meet that gal.  Remind her she doesn’t have to look like she has it all together…looking perfect and put together is over-rated anyway.

So, I may formulate some actual, tangible goals for 2009 but  the underlying theme will be to nurture and form relationships, especially the one with myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

