WFMW: Recycling Envelopes

With kids in two different schools it seems like there are always permission slips or papers of some sort flowing back and forth from our house to the school.  I like to put those two inch strips of paper into an envelope to send back.  Why do we always have to cut off that little strip with our signature??  How many kids have lost THAT in the bottom of their bags?

Anyway, I was going through my share of envelopes when I decided to start using the return envelopes from junk mail.  I save a little basket of them.  When the baskets full I go back to throwing them in the recycling bucket so I don’t end up with too big a stockpile.  I cross out the address on the front with a bright colored sharpie and write what’s inside.  Done.

I also use them to make local payments for utilities and garbage, that kind of thing.  I make sure to write PAYMENT on them so they know what it is in the drop box.

It may not seem like much, but I like using what I already have (and is free) and it works for me!

For other great tips check out all the Works-for-me-Wednesday posts over at We Are THAT Family!

3 Comments

Filed under Kids, Making Do

3 responses to “WFMW: Recycling Envelopes

  1. My mom uses those envelopes for writing her shopping lists on and then you can tuck coupons inside if you want.

    I don’t seem to end up with very many of them but we save on buying envelopes by making pretty ones out of magazine pictures. Everybody that gets a letter in our envelopes usually comments on the envelope, saying it is so much more fun to recieve.

  2. Hi. I was just surfing around some blogs, and I came across yours. It’s pretty nifty and I’m really enjoying my stay here. I’ve bookmarked your site for daily visits, and I hope you’ll visit me. I’d love to have you. 🙂 Have a great day and I’ll see you around the blogosphere. 🙂

    • smalltownsimplehome

      Thanks for stopping by! I love the TILT posts and have tried many recommended items, I hope you enjoy the sunblock if you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

