Square Foot Gardening

2008

2008

I finally planted some seeds today.  Sugar snap peas, spinach, lettuce, bush beans, radishes, red & yellow onions and green onions all went in.  I would’ve liked to put in carrots too, but didn’t realize last year’s seeds were gone.

This is my second year using the square foot gardening (SFG) method.  Last year was a huge success. And I know I could’ve planned so much better and had even better results.

I’m not sure if it is the location.  I finally have a garden that gets enough SUN! Or if it is Mel’s Mix…our soil is really sandy and not so hot for growing stuff unamended.  Or maybe it has something to do with actually taking care of this garden for more than a month.  Yeah, follow through hasn’t been my gardening strong suit in the past.  I really don’t know what made the difference.   But I can say it is one of the best gardening experiences I’ve had.

With that in mind, we (meaning Dan, of course) built another garden box.  Ours are more elaborate than the SFG book calls for because we like it to look a bit more finished.  Also I like being able to sit along the edge and garden or just watch the kids play.  It is nice not getting down on my knees to garden.

2008 ~ fist garden box

2008 ~ fist garden box

Last year we had an abundance of banana peppers, bell peppers, tomatoes (with only TWO plants!) and salad greens.  We planted carrots, radishes and bush beans at varying times so we could have a longer harvest.  This worked out really well.

2008 ~ a month after planting

2008 ~ a month after planting

I love how SFGs look.  It looks like a green quilt to me. All those squares with a variety of colors and textures.  I smile just thinking about it.  I am really excited to venture into the trellis part of it this year and try some vines.  The peas went in today and I’ll try some cucumbers too.  I look forward to a great crop again this year.

2008 ~ harvesting vegetables daily now

2008 ~ harvesting vegetables daily now

I’ll add current photos as I get things planted, along with some other SFG tips and tricks I’ve learned.

So tell me, do you garden?  What are your best gardening tips?

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

Leave a Reply

