Where’ve I been?

I think all the talk of lazy summer days is CRAZY.  Who has lazy summer days??  I think I had a lazy summer day once. Before kids.  Really.  How can you be lazy when the kids are a never-ending whirl of motion that repeat phrases like can we have kool-aid? or It’s over 70* can we get out the sprinkler? When can I have a Popsicle?  Where are my flip flops? I’ll be at the park!  Can I play at the neighbors? Now can I have a Popsicle…I’ll still eat my lunch!

There are those flip flops...left out in the rain.  And that is the new railing.

There are those flip flops...left out in the rain. And that is the new railing.

And do your children change clothes a hundred and twenty times a day?  Are there 47 pair of shoes by the door?  Wet towels in a heap on the lawn…or the middle of a bedroom floor?  I know I’m not alone.

Don’t get me wrong, I love having my kids home all summer.  There just isn’t any rest.  At all.  Ever.

So there’s the kids.  Then there are the home-improvement projects.  So far the second garden box, a new fence and railing on the deck and a solar tube in the bathroom.  Next will be the roof, trellises on the garden boxes and trim painting.  Oh, and edging and mulch along one side of the new fence.  New gutters and maybe shutters.

The trees that we cut down.

The trees that we cut down.

Old fence out, except the little bit you see in the background.  Post holes dug and some sod rolled up.

Old fence out, except the little bit you see in the background. Post holes dug and some sod rolled up.

Part of the fence up and a pile of materials.  Also, you can kind of see the second garden box.

Part of the fence up and a pile of materials. Also, you can kind of see the second garden box.

And we’ve had frost and hail this month too.  I replanted my tomatoes and peppers Sunday before it started raining.

One poor pepper plant that had a little frost damage to start with, then was stripped of most leaves by the hail.

One poor pepper plant that had a little frost damage to start with, then was stripped of most leaves by the hail.

I’m working full time all summer too.  Can’t forget that.  And wrapping up that volunteer position I quit.

My days are full.  And finding that balance is a never-ending challenge.  Slowly I am feeling like I’m making headway.  So I’ll see you soon, OK?

**To be clear, mostly when I say “we” in reference to these outdoor projects, I mean my handy husband.  He’s awesome.  I provide support.  And I haul dozens of bags of cement.  That counts as work…a lot of work.

***That dog in the photos is our chocolate lab, J.  She’s a good dog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Gardening, Kids, Simplify

Leave a Reply

