Garden Update: July 3

Oregano, Cilantro & Basil on the deck.

Oregano, Cilantro & Basil on the deck.

I am pleased with the way my garden has been growing the last week or so.  In the old raised bed things are looking pretty good.  The trellises are up and the sugar snap peas are starting to climb them.   The first of the radishes were harvested on Wednesday and I’ll pick the rest of the first batch tomorrow.

Square Foot Garden #1 ~ built in 2008

Square Foot Garden #1 ~ built in 2008

My new bed is not as far along, with the hail and all.  The new pepper and tomato plants are growing, but not where I’d like them to be at this point in the summer.  My squash and cukes are looking like they will bloom soon.  So there is progress along with another lesson in patience.

Square Foot Garden #2 ~ built this year

Square Foot Garden #2 ~ built this year

Last week I planted two more squares of green beans and a little more spinach.  I also planted another square of radishes.  I know the spinach & radishes may not do well since it is mid-summer, but that is OK.  We’ll see what happens.  I’ll do more radishes, lettuce and spinach later in August for a fall crop.

Second radishes ~ planted June 26th

Second radishes ~ planted June 26th

The rainwater we’ve collected has worked nicely on the gardens.  I still enjoy how easy these square foot gardens are to care for. It is so quick to pull a few weeds and pour some water in each square.  The kids love the gardens too and are always helping.

Are you gardening this summer?  How are things looking?

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, Kids

Leave a Reply

