Compromise: Haircuts

Haircuts are not an area where I feel like saving money.  Now I won’t go to the most expensive place in town…but I won’t cut my own hair either.  Or anyone’s for that matter.

My husband is braver than I.  He has the job of barber to our son.  For at least three years now he cuts Stanley’s hair every month or so.  At about $12 per cut, that’s a savings of over $400 so far.  Stanley has his hair cut pretty short…basically a military style high & tight.

Al fresco haircut.

Al fresco haircut.

Grace has longer hair and only gets trims about 4 or 5 times a year.  She has beautiful red hair and so far hasn’t asked for crazy highlights or anything.   My mom knows how to cut hair so sometimes if Grandma is visiting, she’ll trim up Grace’s hair.

My hair is not thick and luxurious…fine and straight would be more accurate.  I get haircuts about every 6 weeks and treat myself to a highlight a couple of times a year.

Dan thinks I should try cutting his hair…but that isn’t going to happen.  I would hate for him to go to work looking funny.  And I know that would be the outcome.  So spending money on trims every month or so is fine with me.

Why won’t I cut hair?  Why won’t I even try?  Well, that’s a funny story.  In middle school I tried to cut a friend’s hair.  Just a trim.  How hard could that be?  Turns out it is harder than it looks.  Especially when you and the friend are giggling.  I know I cut at least a foot off of her long hair.  One inch at a time.  I’d get almost done, then snip a little too short…in trying to even it up the same thing would happen again.  She started with blond hair over half way down her back.  She went home with a very short bob.  Like,  just below her ears short.  She liked it.  Her mom?  Not so much.  I can’t bring myself to try again.

Why am I telling you this?  Why should you care how we all get haircuts?

I think sometimes we frugal-living folks get caught up in all the ways there are to save money.  So often after telling us to give up our daily latte (the one we never got in the first place) many articles will mention cutting personal services.  There are many ways to save on personal services so that you don’t have to give them up altogether.

It is important to remember that to be successful in our thrifty-ness we need to find a balance that works for our own family. Cutting expenses in a way that is really unpleasant usually isn’t worth it.  Find another way to save that money.

That’s not to say that new frugal habits are painless to begin…there are always uncomfortable phases to starting new habits.  But if you truly HATE the thought of cutting someone’s hair?  I say just don’t do it.

How do you find a balance in your thrifty efforts so that it doesn’t suck the joy out of life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Kids

Leave a Reply

