WFMW: Rubbing Alcohol

wfmwbannerKRISTEN

A while back one of my children fell asleep playing with NEON ORANGE silly putty.  Obviously I didn’t know they were playing with it in BED!  The next morning the poor child sheepishly told me they had a mess.  Boy was it a mess.  That silly putty was on everything.  Flannel sheets.  A favorite stuffed animal.  Blankets.  Did I mention it was NEON ORANGE??

Google quickly gave me thousands of possible sites with answers to “silly putty on sheets” but I was afraid I wouldn’t have the supplies needed. These are the times where being stuck at home all day is not to my advantage.  Fortunately rubbing alcohol seemed to be a recurring solution.  I HAD THAT!  In a minty scent.  Leftover from a craft project.

I learned that day that with plenty of time and patience, rubbing alcohol would dissolve silly putty.  I got out virtually all the silly putty, although a little of the orange coloring remained.  Really, what could I expect?  NEON ORANGE!

Happily I’m here to tell you that where silly putty is concerned, rubbing alcohol works for me!

Need other answers to questions you didn’t even realize you needed to ask?  Check out all the great Works-for-me-Wednesday posts over at We are THAT Family!

4 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Kids, You Don't Have to Like It

4 responses to “WFMW: Rubbing Alcohol

  1. I can totally picture what that mess would look like! My daughter is not quite two yet so she’s not ready for silly putty yet. Right now I think she’d be more interested in eating it but when the time comes, I’ll keep your words of advice in mind!

  2. Who would have thought? Sounds like a disaster that you were able to solve. 😉

  3. joeys gal

    we have the rule that all silly putty and play-doh stays in the kitchen…no carpet!! for that matter, so do drinks.

    • smalltownsimplehome

      Oh we have similar rules. This child was 11 at the time and just wasn’t thinking. I think she’d won it at school for something and had just brought it home that week. I knew nothing about it. She thought she’d put it on her nightstand before she fell asleep…guess not.

Leave a Reply

