Challenge

Owlhaven put out a challenge to spend less this month.  Her goal is $75 a week for her family of 10 at home.  I’ve seen similar things on other blogs, like Small Notebook’s 30 days of nothing in July.  I am always intrigued.  I love the idea of a challenge.  Maybe because I’m more competitive than I realize sometimes.

My excuse for not participating has always been because of the daycare.  Since it is my business, there are certain food related business costs.  Due to food program regulations I have stringent requirements to adhere to.  I must serve all four food groups at lunch, three food groups at breakfast and two at snacks.  I have to have a certain amount of food prepared for each child…things like that.  But really daycare isn’t a valid reason for skipping the chance to whittle back the budget numbers a little.  Maybe I’m just a bit lazy and complacent…I don’t want to do the hard thing.

My cash budget for groceries, pet items, household and personal products is usually $100 per week.  That includes daycare food, as I don’t really keep that separate from our family’s food.  Except I can’t serve daycare children venison, fish or any other meat harvested by my hunter husband.  And I can’t serve the kids home-canned food, only frozen.

I’ve been thinking that Mary’s challenge could be a great tool for me to really reevaluate my grocery budget.  I thought about adopting the $75 as well, but that is only a $25 cut per week.  I want to see if I can make a REAL difference, even if just for a month.  So I’ve decided to try to get through September for $240. An average of $60 per week.  With my own family and daycare children  I feed 9 people between two shifts for breakfast, pack two lunches and feed 7 more at lunch then 11 at snack in the afternoon.  Suppers and weekends are just the four of us.

I mentioned my plan to that husband of mine.  His comment was that he guessed he’d be losing weight this month…we’ve both been working on that, so it really isn’t a bad thing.  I didn’t shop to stock up at the end of August.  In fact I just decided yesterday that I’d participate after all.  I haven’t spent any money yet in September but will go to the store on Sunday or Monday.  I started working on a three week menu to take us to September 27th.  I’ll be working on figuring out where I can cut out expenses more as the weeks go on.

Wish me luck.

1 Comment

Filed under Adventure, Doing Without, Menus, Shopping, You Don't Have to Like It

One response to “Challenge

  1. My husband joked about losing weight this month too! 🙂 Glad you’re playing along!!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

