Tator Tot Hotdish

IMG_3334

Monday you may have noticed the tator tot hotdish on my menu.  We had the yummy comfort food for supper that night.  Today Grace had me heat some up and pack it in her lunch.  My daycare children also enjoyed it for lunch yesterday.  We think it is that good.

About ten years ago I stopped making tator tot hotdish.  The recipe I had called for the typical ingredient, cream of mushroom soup.  One day one of the little ones in my child care asked for more of the “gray stuff” and that was it.  I just couldn’t make things referred to as “gray stuff” so no more tator tot hotdish.

Six months later a neighbor brought over this one just hours after I returned home from having the boy.  It was delicious!  She shared the recipe and I’ve been making it ever since.  I do vary the vegetable.  I prefer peas and the girl likes corn.  The boys don’t care…they gobble it up anyway.

Tator-Tot Hotdish

  • 1# ground beef, browned
  • 1 can cream of celery soup
  • 1 can of creamy onion soup
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) green beans
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 bag tator-tots

Mix browned burger with soups, vegetable, cheese and milk.  Place 1/2 the tator-tots in bottom of a 9×13 pan. Top with burger mixture and then spread remaining tator-tots on top.

Bake for an hour @ 350 degrees.

Enjoy!  It reheats well and can also be made a day ahead.  Just what this mom needs; flexible, easy, tasty!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, In the Kitchen, Menus

One response to “Tator Tot Hotdish

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ January 4th « Small Town ~ Simple Home

Leave a Reply

