Green Salsa

IMG_3374In looking for a use for my abundance of green tomatoes, I came across this recipe here.

The first batch I made I used a combination of about half lemon juice, half lime.  I also left out the oregano and cumin. I also couldn’t get any long green chiles in SmallTown so I used a couple jars of diced green chiles.  Oh, and I used jarred, minced garlic.  It was good.  Very fresh tasting.  The lime definitely came through.  I would’ve liked it a little spicier, but it was good.

The second batch was mostly made by my son.  He loves to use the food processor.  We used it for everything.  He thought it was funny that the onions made him cry so much.  For this batch I found some of the long green chiles and added a teaspoon each of oregano and cumin.  The juice was about 1/4 cup lime and 3/4 cup lemon. This batch was very good too.   Since my son made it he was open to trying it…and he liked it too.

IMG_3379

I would call this recipe a success.  Definitely a place to start.  I dumped a jar over some chicken breasts this morning and can smell the  chicken cooking now…we will have enchiladas tomorrow!

Green Salsa

Yield: 5 pints

5 cups chopped green tomatoes
1 1/2 cups seeded, chopped long green chiles
1/2 cup seeded finely chopped jalapeños
4 cups chopped onions
1 cup bottled lemon juice
6 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 Tbsp ground cumin*
3 Tbsp oregano leaves *
1 Tbsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan and stir frequently over high heat until mixture begins to boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Ladle hot salsa into pint jars, leaving 1/2-inch head space. Adjust lids and process in a boiling water canner 15 minutes at 0-1,000 feet altitude; 20 minutes at 1,001-6,000 feet; 25 minutes above 6,000 feet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, In the Kitchen, Using It Up

Leave a Reply

