Forgiven

Can you believe I’m going to tell a story of forgiveness as it relates to a credit card company?

I made a mistake yesterday.  And I hate to make mistakes.  I paid my credit card payment late. By 20 minutes.  Panic set in that my interest rate would jump to 30% and then there would be the $39 late fee.  Really the late fee would’ve been the least of my worries.  This is the only credit card we still carry a balance on.  We owe them thousands of dollars, and while we plan to have it paid off within the next year a jump in interest would ruin our plan.

I panicked.  How would I fess up to this mess?  How would I fix it?  There are so many reports of how awful and unforgiving the credit card companies are…

I knew that we could move the balance to any of the three credit cards we have already paid off.  I thought there might be a slim chance to avoid the penalties from this company.  But I didn’t have a lot of faith.  I prayed.  I prayed for forgiveness for leaning on me and not Him.  I prayed for some grace.  Ironically I didn’t pray that the problem would be alright…I prayed that I’d be alright with what happened next.  That it would work out.

After supper I called the company.  I had decided I wasn’t going to try to come up with a bunch of excuses as to why I didn’t pay earlier…I was simply going to admit my mistake, point out that I made a payment several hundred dollars above the minimum (and do every month) and ask what they could do to help me.  I was nervous.

A nice woman on the phone heard my first line.  “I’m calling because I made my payment about a half hour too late today. I’m sorry about that.”

Her response?

“Yes, Mrs. X   I see that.  I also see that you are a charter member with us, since 1994.  And you have such a good credit history…great job on that.  I’ve taken care of it.  You won’t be charged a late fee and your interest will remain the same.”

I was amazed and I don’t think I really believed what I was hearing.  I didn’t even have to ask!

She proceeded to tell me that since I’m such a good customer she’d like to offer me a 5% cash back reward for the next three months on all charges on this card, up to a $100 statement credit.

Really?  Astonishing.  Before we hung up I asked again if I heard her right…no fee, my rate would stay low AND I had a 5% cash back reward for the next 3 months? She assured me that was right.

It is often hard for me to understand how big God is.  How all encompassing His grace really is.  That I am FORGIVEN.  But isn’t that just what God does for us?  Before we can even ask, our sins are on his screen. He knows.  He says “it’s alright…I’ve taken care of it.”  And then we get the reward in Heaven!  For eternity, not just 3 months.

Wow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Me

Leave a Reply

