Ultimate Recipe Swap: Monster Bars

URS

My family LOVES these.  They are moist and freeze well too.  In high school our cafeteria sold big monster cookies that were so soft and yummy!  Dan & I had never had any as good (we’re high school sweethearts) until a friend served these bars a couple of years ago…we were hooked!

Monster Bars

  • 1/2 cup butter, soft
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 4 1/2 cups oats (either quick cooking or regular)
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips (I use regular)
  • 1 cup mini m&ms (again, I use regular…& seasonal are fun!)

Mix butter, sugars and peanut butter.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Mix in soda and oatmeal, then chips and m&ms.

Spread in jelly roll pan and bake @ 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Do not over bake.  The edges will just start to turn a little golden.  Enjoy!

Check out Life as MOM for more recipes…they look good!

5 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

5 responses to “Ultimate Recipe Swap: Monster Bars

  1. Is there any chance this recipe should have had flour in it?

    It seemed odd that it didn’t… and mine have been in the oven on 350 for 22 minutes and so far, they are still pretty jiggly and not setting at all.

  2. Okay… never mind. After about 26 minutes in my oven, they finally seemed to brown a bit. I took them out and let them rest and my husband is gobbling them up! Sorry!

    ~Jolene

  3. smalltownsimplehome

    Jolene, I know the no flour thing seems strange but I think that is why they stay so moist. Glad they finally browned a little for you. Hope you enjoyed them! My hubby & kids have been known to scoop some out right away to pair with ice cream. YUM!
    Thanks for stopping by!

    • They were fantastic. There are 2 bars left in my fridge- hidden from the kids! LOL They have eaten all the rest- those 2 are MINE!

      I think I might need to pick up an oven thermometer before I start the christmas baking. Temps being off could be why they took so long to bake.

      Thanks again for the recipe!

      • smalltownsimplehome

        I’m glad you liked them. They are probably our favorite. I cut about half the pan and freeze those for lunch boxes. A big hit. Enjoy those two you have hidden! Last time I made them I had to put them in a bedroom to cool so my hubby wouldn’t find them at lunch time and dig in while they were hot…I was making them for a pot luck.

Leave a Reply

