Lazy

Taken on a gloomy Saturday a few weeks ago on a drive through one of the MN State Parks.

Taken on a gloomy Saturday a few weeks ago on a drive through one of the MN state parks.

Outside is gloomy and wet, my house is not very tidy and I’m trying to be ok with that.  The perfectionist in me always thinks she should be cleaning or doing something productive. The rest of me gets a little sick of her.

Today I got the one main thing on my list crossed off.  Mail (belated) birthday gifts to relatives.

And then I spent a few hours feeding my creative side.  I played with my new cartridge for my Cricut and made cards for family.  Then I put the kids’ school pictures in those cards and even mailed most of them.    I also sprayed an old metal tray with chalkboard paint.  Chalkboard paint always makes me happy!  I went to the coffee shop for a yummy chai tea and even checked out a gift shop that is closing on Monday…there were good deals but I only bought one small gift for a friend for Christmas.  Then I had to visit the other gift shops neighboring that one.  There were a lot of cute things but I resisted.  Last stop was the thrift store.  I bought a valance that I think I’ll make into an apron, a metal bucket that hangs on the wall (and promptly painted that with my chalkboard paint too) and another small piece of material that I liked and think I can put to use.  Total for today (other than postage) was only $10.  Not bad.  And then I went and worked out for half an hour on the treadmill.

I feel pretty lazy.  No cleaning.  No cooking.  Can you believe my kids scrounged around for their own lunches and I made pizza rolls for me and my man for lunch?  Lame but true.  And this is the point in the day where I fight the guilt over not accomplishing anything today.  But if I look at what I did do…a few things got accomplished.

I’m still learning to relax and just enjoy doing my own thing sometimes.  It’s kind of fun.

Now I’m going to go make some supper for the kids.  Although driving home from the community center had me eyeing Subway, I’ll make some soup and sandwiches here.  And then I’ll maybe curl up with a book I’ve been reading.

So tell me, am I the only one who fights the GUILT?  What are your tips for enjoying a lazy day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, Just Me, Lists

Leave a Reply

