Company Girl Coffee 2.5

Hey there!  Welcome!  I know it is getting a little late for coffee, but I’m glad you stopped by!  I’ve got soda, tea & plenty cold water…what’ll you have?

I made it to the weekend!  Finally back from an unexpected blogging break, I’ve checked in at Home Sanctuary for Rachel’s Small Things.  I love those Small Things.  While I haven’t had time to comment much I did pray for friends, cut some tags, took care of some garbage clutter in my make-up bag, planned dinner before 10 am and today I shook out those throw rugs.  In Minnesota those entry rugs definitely collect sand & salt!  While I didn’t complete even 50% of my to-do list on any given day, I do feel good having added those Small Things.

About a month ago I made a little change to our weekend routine and my house has seen the benefit of that change.  It makes my home a sanctuary, at least for the weekend.  With daycare in my home, I might as well have a revolving door on my house Monday through Friday.  Between 6:30 and  8:00 on any given morning a dozen people have come in and 3 of my family have gone out.  That is a lot of traffic.  Repeat between 4:30 & 5:00.  By the end of the week my house can look a little worse for wear.  This week I had a blue design on my linoleum for 3 days.  It was carpet tape I put down in a zig-zag pattern through my kitchen & dining room for the kids to practice walking on.  And today there was a head to a baby doll stuck under my hutch.  Apparently the baby doll needed to go under there for a nap.  When a little someone was trying to get the baby up they pulled a little too hard.  Whoops.  Definitely not a sanctuary feel.

I usually straighten up each night, then vacuum & sweep each morning.  But energy for other big cleaning doesn’t come easily for me during the week.  So about a month ago I was here with the kids for the weekend while Dan was on a fishing trip.  I got a great idea!  I would offer an incentive to my kids!  I didn’t want to spend the whole weekend cleaning and I didn’t want to keep nagging reminding them to help.

This was the deal:  For two hours after kids left they helped me CLEAN house.  Floors, bathrooms, dusting – everything.  At 6:30 if I had good, productive helpers with happy attitudes I would order pizza to be delivered.  (this if VERY rare around here) then we’d pick out a movie to watch while we enjoyed our pizza.  They loved the idea.  Really.

They didn’t mind helping.  They loved the pizza.  And they really liked that mom sat down and watched a WHOLE movie with them & didn’t get up once to change laundry or something.

We have done this Friday night thing three times now.  The kids ASK to do this on a Friday when we don’t have anything on the calendar.  It is amazing. One week I got three junk drawers cleaned out & sheets changed in addition to the rest.  Another week we got the kitchen counters cleared and scrubbed down.  Best thing is, my house actually feels like a sanctuary by 7pm on Friday.  Getting up to a clean house on Saturday morning is heavenly.  On Sunday I still have a short cleaning session to do to get ready for Monday, but it is nothing like the weeks we don’t do our Friday Night Blitz (as my son called it last time).

That is the main thing I’ve got going on lately.  How about you?  What have you been doin’ to make that home a sanctuary?

To see what a bunch of other fun folks have been up to check out more Company Girl Coffee links!

13 Comments

Filed under Just Me

13 responses to “Company Girl Coffee 2.5

  1. Great job on your new routine – it sounds like it is really working well for you! We usually do a Friday afternoon clean up and the reward is pizza and a video. Often the pizza is homemade, but that’s fun too! We home school, so I like to clean off our school/dining room table and give it a thorough clean on Friday, than put a nice runner and centerpiece there for the weekend! Just a wee touch of sanctuary!

  2. sounds like that Friday night thing is really working…way to go!

    I am chuckling over here at the image of a doll’s head under your hutch…too funny.

    • smalltownsimplehome

      Yeah the doll’s head is easier to take than the half roll of toilet paper in the toilet! Never a dull moment!

  3. Great idea – Friday Night Blitz!! Daycare in the home certainly must make life hectic at times.

    • smalltownsimplehome

      Thanks for stopping by. I does get hectic at times…but getting a jump start on laundry or supper at nap time helps balance things out. Spending my days with the little kiddos is pretty rewarding.

  4. That sounds like a great way to get the kids to help with chores without any complaining. I can’t afford to order pizza every week, but I think I can come up with something;) Great idea!

    • smalltownsimplehome

      I can’t afford it either every week. Our local place does really cheap small pizzas so we’re each getting a small and it is under $20. I have a couple of punch cards from the gas station filled too. They can be redeemed for a free pizza so I’ll fall back on those. Doing this a couple times a month gets some of the deep cleaning done and shouldn’t break the bank. My goal was no mess to clean up after cleaning up.

  5. Kudos to you! My two grandchildren (4 mos. and 16 mos.) stay in home daycares and I so appreciate these women that feel “called” in that area. It has been such a blessing to know that they are in a home atmosphere and it has made going to work so much easier on their Mommies. I know it must be a huge task for you but it sounds like you are doing a great job balancing everything. Blessings to you and may you have a great week-end with your family.

  6. I love your cleaning idea. We homeschool so we are in and out everyday (x4 boys). So I can understand the dolls head/tape on the floor thing.

    Glad you found something that works for you and makes your home a sanctuary.

  7. Great idea to involve the kids! And making it fun? You are a genius.

    Your point about watching the movie without getting up to do a “mom” task is SO important. Those little things are the ones that make our children and other people know that they are a priority to us!

    I cannot offer any great advice on the home sanctuary front…Still working on it, myself. 🙂

  8. Love this idea. We homeschool (and have four boys) so we have a lot of in and out.

  9. joyceandnorm

    Those Small Things make a big difference sometimes. Good for you for keeping up! And I love that the kids are helping out and that as a result you can spend more time together. Enjoy your weekend!

  10. Pingback: Company Girl Coffee 2.26 « Small Town ~ Simple Home

Leave a Reply

