40 Bags in 40 Days

A couple of weeks ago I came across the 40 bags in 40 days challenge for Lent.  I don’t even really know how I got there…surfing around one evening.  I am not Catholic, nor have I ever given anything up for Lent, but this year I’ve felt a nudge to step it up.  I was wondering what I should be doing differently…thinking about where I need to grow.  Right now I feel there are two things holding me back.  One is STUFF!  Oh the stuff.  I love it and I hate it.  But I know it is getting to be too much.

Enter the 40 bags challenge.  I could do this!

I set out thinking this would be pretty easy.  And so far it is going well.  I went through a big stash of yarn that my mom gave me.  Some I kept for my own projects and most I donated to the local middle school.  They are doing a knitting clinic with kids next week and had an ad on the radio that they needed yarn.  Beautiful timing.  I went through big stacks of magazines that I’ve been saving.  Most are getting recycled and the newer ones are headed to the library.

I think as the weeks move along this will get harder and the sacrifice will really kick in.  And that’s good too.  I am already finding that I am looking around my house with new eyes…and a little embarrassment at how I’ve let things accumulate.

How about you?  Are you a saver or a thrower?

1 Comment

Filed under Attitude, Just Me, Simplify

One response to “40 Bags in 40 Days

  1. Pingback: Company Girl Coffee 2.26 « Small Town ~ Simple Home

Leave a Reply

