CSA Week 2

The salads from week one were wonderful.  There was only a little bowl of greens left today from last week’s delivery, and they still taste good!

CSA Delivery Week 2

Today’s delivery was much the same.  Sadly no surprise cucumber hiding in there though.  My plan is to have side salads with most dinners and then salad as the main course at least once a week.  My hubby even said twice a week would be ok with him…wow.

As I was assembling the ingredients for a big salad supper on Monday my kids told me that they don’t mind the salads if there is the extra stuff to go with it. What extras go with it?  Homemade croutons, little cubes of cheese, hard boiled egg, quartered (turkey) pepperoni slices, sliced radishes…and any other little bits that look good.

So I see lots of leafy greens in our diets for the near future.  And radishes.  One of the bunches is supposed to be English Breakfast Radishes.  I don’t really know what the difference is…when I tried to look it up I didn’t find out much more that sometimes people eat radishes thinly sliced on toast with butter and salt.  Interesting.

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening, In the Kitchen

One response to “CSA Week 2

  1. Oh my goodness. I know this is way late, but I had to comment. I was overwhelmed by the radishes in the first few weeks of my CSA — until I discovered pan-fried radishes. I quartered mine, threw ’em in a pan with some butter, salt and pepper and that’s it. So good. : )

Leave a Reply

