CSA Catch-Up: Weeks 7 & 8

We are getting out of the lettuce/salad greens and into more cucumbers, zucchini, onions…less leafy stuff.

Week 7 brought the first summer squash.  And the first tomatoes.  Just two but they were sooo good!  I almost never buy tomatoes in the store so fresh ones in the summer are really about the only tomatoes we eat raw.

CSA Week 7 ~ 7.14.10

So you see another sack of potatoes, peas, kale, cukes, zucchini, summer squash, onions, and cabbage.  How’s that for variety?

Here’s what I want to know: How do you use these vegetables? Especially the cabbage.  I make cole slaw but that is about it.  I know I could be doing more…

CSA Week 8 ~ 7.21.10

You can see that this week looks a lot like last, with the exception of the green beans!  And no cabbage.

I still have the yellow squash and cabbage from week 7.  I gave 2 zucchini away along with some green beans.  We have a lot of green beans growing in our backyard gardens too, so I have LOTS of those right now.

The cucumbers and onions are already in a batch of refrigerator pickles and the peas will go in a turkey pot pie today.

What do you have growing? How are you using it?

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening, In the Kitchen

One response to “CSA Catch-Up: Weeks 7 & 8

  1. Kay

    Cabbage…mmm apart from caulslaw, I shred it finely and add to my stir fry near the end of cooking. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

