Somethings Got To Give

Or the one where I talk about what a crummy friend I am lately….

When my kids were smaller, I dreamed of the day I could leave them home to go out for a quick meal with my husband or a quick trip to the store.  Oh how wonderful it would be to see them grow up and make their own snack!  The free time I would have!

Well, those things are nice!  Don’t get me wrong…I enjoy a nice Saturday lunch out with my husband about once a month.  We go shopping in a neighboring town without them sometimes.  It is good!

What I didn’t expect was the other stuff.  Kids (namely my daughter, the new teenager) staying up later.  Talking through a whole other world of issues with them.  Relationship issues.  Both about friends and boys.  And the injustices in the world, like teachers who don’t think you’re talking is adorable or kids who went to the lake and forgot to invite you…  terrible things.

I am adjusting to this new rhythm. very. slowly.  But since I see some progress, I am hopeful.

Then there is the garden.  Oh the veggies.  So many of them.  And as I clean, chop and freeze or can these beautiful veggies I dream of winter when I can enjoy it all.  Think of the free time I will have!  Wait.  Haven’t I heard that somewhere before???

Anyway.

I am also trying to fit in more quality time with my husband.  Unfortunately some of this takes the form of picking, cleaning and chopping vegetables.  He’s been so good about helping.

Work is busy.  And that is good, but the days are long.

So what has been pushed to the side?  My friends and family.  I have ignored texts.  I’ve let the phone ring.  I’ve actually sent a few emails to let people know that we are good…just really busy.  And I actually said “don’t give up on me!  I’ll be in touch soon!”  Except I don’t know if I will be in touch soon.  Summer is a little over half over & I don’t see anything letting up.

I love these people.  I don’t want to push them off to some other day in my planner where it actually says “call mom.” But I also don’t want to miss what’s gong on in my house because I was on the phone.

I think I made a breakthrough though.  My friend called this week & I almost told Grace to tell her I couldn’t come to the phone.  I had just sat down for the first time that day (and it was almost 8:30 pm) and didn’t really have the energy to talk.  I started by telling her I only had 5 minutes.  But that 5 turned into the 20 she said that she had.  I’m glad that I talked to her.  We mostly talked about nothing.  Ants.  That was a big part of our conversation.  Because good friends talk about big stuff like that…

And the next morning I called my mom.

I don’t know what the next opportunity will bring.  But I do want to go back to being a better friend.  Slowly I am adjusting to this new season.  I figure my true friends will stick it out until I get back to them, right?  And about that time they will enter the world of teens and I’ll get to wait it out while they adjust, I imagine.

It seems that even when life is good, somethings got to give.  Must mean life is just FULL!

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Me

Leave a Reply

