Weekend Wrap-Up

Well,  it was a very busy weekend!  I did push through and go shopping with Grace on Friday. As predicted we got home at midnight.  By 7:15 on Saturday morning Dan & I were at our CSA garden to pick beans and cukes.  That took a couple of hours and we were home by 10.

The rest of the weekend was a blur of vegetables and canning jars.  Here is what we made/canned this weekend:

  • 25 pints & 7 half-pints of dilly green beans
  • 6 quarts of dill pickles
  • 4 pints of dill spears
  • 5 pints & 4 half-pints of hamburger slices
  • 5 pints & 5 half-pints of dill relish
  • 1 pint & 5 half-pints of sweet relish
  • 5 half-pints of jalapeno jelly
  • 5 pints of freezer slaw
  • 4 gallons of cabbage (for soups)
  • 5 pints of freezer cucumbers

And then, because my house is hopping by 7 am…we cleaned the kitchen.  Including the jelly that boiled over all over the stove.  What a mess.  But by 9:30 last night the floor was scrubbed too.

And I collapsed.

Remember the sore throat I mentioned on Friday?  It never went away.  In fact, it invited its friends: body aches, low-grade temp, headache & mucous to the party.

I thought I’d take it easy at work today, but still take kids.  I feel bad taking a sick day when I am on vacation all next week.  And since I sorta brought some of this on myself (hello super-woman syndrome) I kinda feel guilty about that too.  However, this morning Dan said at 5:00 am that he was not working (he & I have the same party goin’ on in our bodies) so I decided that maybe that was a good idea.

I took a 5 hour nap today.  yes.  FIVE HOURS.  So maybe I needed this sick day after all.

And maybe I shouldn’t pick green beans and cukes on the same day again.

1 Comment

Filed under Adventure, Gardening, In the Kitchen

One response to “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Crazy Canning « Small Town ~ Simple Home

Leave a Reply

