Adjustments

After 6 months of life with a teenage daughter, life is pretty good.   If fact I think she’s matured so much in the last year.  She’s responsible and funny, caring and considerate.  Yes, there are hormones that rear their ugly head from time to time, but it hasn’t been too bad.

There are two things I am having to adjust to though.

First, is finding that quiet house time to myself.  My husband has always been an early to bed kind of guy, so when the kids were in bed (and often asleep) by 9:00 I had some time to myself.  Now Grace is up until 10 frequently and sometimes later.  She sleeps til 8 most mornings so she gets plenty of sleep…but it doesn’t leave much time alone for me.  I’ve tried to get up earlier without much success.  So I figure I’ll either learn to get up earlier or learn to live with less time to myself at the end of the day.  This isn’t a big deal…just a little different.

The second adjustment also has to do with relaxing in the evening.  After a long day I sometimes get into pajamas after supper, especially if I know we aren’t going anywhere/doing anything for the rest of the evening.  But not anymore.  Now I’m dressed until I go to bed.

Dan & I both hope that our house becomes a hangout place for our kids & their friends.  We like to know where they are and what their friends are like.  If you are going to have an open door policy, you have to be ready to open the door!

I am not particularly high maintenance, but I like to look nice…put together.  Know what I mean?  I don’t want my kids to feel like their mother is frumpy or dumpy or whatever…so while I don’t need to be “Stacie’s mom”  I don’t want to embarrass them either.

Do you still have little ones?  Do you want an example?

Yesterday Grace got a call from a good friend.  She was hanging out with a group of kids at one of the kids’ grandparents’ house down the street.  Could Grace come over?  sure.  It’s in the neighborhood.  That was at 7:30.  A little while later two boys knocked on my door.  They were friends of Grace and wanted to know if we had something to pump up their bike tires.  Of course.  I went out to the garage and got the air compressor.  They happily aired up their tires while half a dozen other kids found their way to our driveway. Later one of the kids was telling Grace that her parents sure must be strict if she (Grace) isn’t allowed to wear short shorts, when one of the bike boys interrupted with “no, her parents are cool!  they have an air compressor!”.

So you see, what if I had decided at 7 or even 7:30 that I could call it a night and change into pjs?

Today Grace and her friend from last night were texting about how bored they were when Grace asked if her friend could come over.  Sure.  So 10 minutes later I was picking up the friend.  We’ll bring her home at 9:30 or so when Dan gets home from Stanley’s wrestling camp.  They are out on bikes now.  And who knows who I could have in my driveway before long.

So there are some adjustments I have to make.  And some minor inconveniences…but really I wouldn’t have it any other way.

The girls are back!  Better go see if I need to make a snack for them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, Kids

Leave a Reply

