CSA: Week 13

CSA Week 13 ~ 8.25.10

It was another full, heavy bag of produce.  Some things were the same: zucchini, cucumbers, onion, corn, potatoes.  And then there were some other things:  green pepper, garlic, green beans.

Our challenge this time was just that…the time.  We get our delivery on Wednesday.  On Thursday evening we had piano lessons, hair appointments and a football informational meeting.  Definitely no time to eat any of this.  On Friday we left for a long weekend in HomeTown.  We wouldn’t be eating at home again until Tuesday (yesterday).  So what do we do?

Compromise.

I hate to see anything go to waste if it doesn’t have to.  I knew I had a lot of paperwork to do on Wednesday so I didn’t have a lot of time.  Dan agreed to go to the work to freeze the corn.  I grated the zucchini quick, leaving out a few cups to bake into somethin’ yummy on Thursday, freezing the rest.  And I added the tomatoes, green pepper and onion to some tomatoes from my garden and stewed them.  They were tucked away in the freezer on Friday.  I also made Pineapple Zucchini Bread & Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes on Friday before we left for HomeTown.  The cucumbers turned into refrigerator pickles that we took with for the family reunion dish-to-pass.

Green beans were divided up and given to the neighbors.

The potatoes?  Well they are still in the cupboard with a few other weeks’ deliveries of potatoes.  I really need to figure out what to do with the surplus.

And that took care of it.  My crisper drawers were empty with the exception of a few apples.

In a few hours I will receive a text letting me know that the deliveries are here.  Sweet corn anyone??

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, In the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

