Walk the Walk

I keep wanting to be more active. Then I use the “just didn’t have time to go to the gym” excuse.
I want to save money. Then the “don’t have time, this time” excuse.
I want to slow down and be more mindful. Are you guessing what comes next?…..yep excuses.

I don’t think I’m alone in this. Change is hard.

Monday I walked to the grocery store. Really just to see if the bananas were actually yellow. Knowing I would only be getting some produce made it easier to grab my reusable bag and walk the 8 or so blocks. It felt good.

Sure, it took longer. I didn’t really mind though. Instead I was thinking about how I’d feel if I planned more things like this. Forcing me to slow down. To think. To work for what I need and want.

I walked home from the dentist yesterday. It’s maybe a little over a mile. No huge accomplishment but it did take 25 minutes instead of the 5 to drive. Felt good to just take a little extra time.

No worries, though. I’m not selling my van any time soon.
Baby steps.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, Goals, Just Me

Leave a Reply

